Lent- Day 12

I’m with Peter on this one… Let’s build three tents and stay up here on the mountain! If only every day could be filled with mountaintop moments… But, life, in my experience at least, is lived mostly in the valleys and on the plains. Mountaintop experiences with God are pretty seldom… But, they do seem to prepare us for the Lenten deserts that arrive I find this scripture hopeful in the midst of Lent. What strikes you today about the transfiguration?

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Lent, Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lent- Day 12

  1. Barbara Neilon says:

    I found myself trying to relate the 3 tents to our hospitality study. It seemed to me more about trying to “contain” the experience of divine hospitality extended to the 3 disciples. The tents were not for themselves but for Moses, Elijah, and Jesus.

    I suppose I have moe questions than answers about this!! Perhaps others have thoughts on this.

    Like

    • Gail Murphy says:

      Interesting – I see Peter’s offer as hospitable to this particular experience of God’s transfiguring presence – an invitation to stay awhile so they could be steeped in Jesus’ love, the law and the prophetic message. A time of strengthening. It’s quite remarkable that in the midst of such an experience, the question of “dwelling” or “tenting” should arise. I wonder what Peter hoped for if tents were pitched?

      Like

  2. Pat Van Horn says:

    I agree. Every time I have gone off to a retreat or just spend a few moments out in nature, I feel that call to stay and leave my old life behind. Why is there such peace there and I can’t find it in the world that constantly needs me for something? I know I should try to find that in every day life but it seems over whelming most days. I love the book from Benedict for Lent. It gives me something to strive for each day.

    Like

  3. Gail Murphy says:

    Yes, I agree – this gives me something as well to focus on. I don’t know if we’re supposed to have mountaintop experiences everyday – I think that would be overwhelming for me as well. They always seem to challenge me to see things differently (in a new light) and then to go forward and make it so.

    Like

  4. Teresa C. says:

    Hopeful because it’s a preview of our eternal life, the future glory we will share in heaven with the Father Son and Holy Spirit where we will be filled with indescribable peace love and joy. It also striking to hear the voice of saying “This is my beloved Son…listen to Him” …Listen to him with the ears of your heart! Keep your gazed on Jesus with loving eyes in your heart.

    Like

  5. Gail Murphy says:

    Yes, “Listen to him with the ears of your heart” – I agree – listen with all of who we are, as God (and St Benedict) calls for, turning toward him body, mind and soul… thanks for adding this wisdom!

    Like

  6. Appreciate it for this post, I am a big fan of this web site would like to continue updated.

    Like

  7. “Great post, hey I came across this post while searching internet. I have read few more post they are pretty informative as well. Great job and keep up the great work.”

    Like

  8. Francie Losh says:

    “Due to this blog, I found inspiration for my hobby. Thanks a lot!”

    Like

  9. “Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and fantastic design and style.”

    Like

  10. “Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks”

    Like

  11. “I’m still learning from you, but I’m trying to achieve my goals. I definitely enjoy reading all that is posted on your blog.Keep the aarticles coming. I liked it!”

    Like

  12. “How long has this site been around?”

    Like

Share your thoughts with our community

