Lent – Day 14

As I look at today’s Lenten Action based on 4.34-40 of the Rule, I was immediately challenged to look at my eating habits of late and admit I have been guilty of being “a great eater”. I had planned to cut down considerably during Lent but haven’t paid much attention to that promise. At least for today I can make the promise to think before I eat and to counteract my appetite with a walk outdoors. This call to moderation is a hard one for me because of what tends to lie beneath the overindulging. For me this is usually a way to avoid something by staying “busy”.

Don’t have a copy of the Rule of Benedict handy? Select this link for access to the Rule: http://www.e-benedictine.com/go/ and choose from the column on the left under Saint Benedict : “His Rule”.

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Lent, Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lent – Day 14

  1. L Misner says:

    I can really understand (in light of our Biblical studies) what the Lenten Action says today – that the early philosophers and desert dwellers got caught up in their daily “stuff”, as they became distracted from contemplation of the divine. That is ME. I find myself being so wrapped up in the duties of the day, that I am oblivious of the Lord’s calling in the midst. This space where my computer is lacks continuity and organization – it’s kind of like my mind – disorganized. My prayer is that God will bring me to clarity in thinking and in doing. I really WANT to be clean inside and outside for Him. Lord, please clear the clutter from my mind and in my space.

    Like

  2. R. Ann says:

    As I looked at the rule I was drawn to 4:39-40. Do not grumble or speak ill of others. Yikes!! I am not one to usually grumble or gossip but recently I have been hurt by someone who I cared about very much. So how did I respond? By grumbling and gossiping to anyone and everyone who would listen to me – even God! I have been convicted by my own conscious. And as it says in the action for today – do something to counteract this failing – so I will bless this person, as was suggested for our Day 13 reflection. Bless him and then put my lips together!

    Like

  3. Gail Murphy says:

    I’ve been there! The pain that comes from being hurt by someone we trust can so easily and rapidly transform into grumbling and complaining. Like a virus it spreads wreaking havoc in our life and the lives of others who encounter us. And sadly, it does no good for anyone in the end. St Benedict’s call to see everyone, especially those who are “strangers” to us in one way or another as Christ is now a part of my reflection and what I see as a way to “bless” as I think more about this. I also agree that closing my mouth and going inward are a must if any fruit is to come of the experience at all. Tough! Tough! Tough!

    Like

  4. I am extremely inspired along with your writing talents as well as with the structure to your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you modify it your self? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to look a great weblog like this one these days..

    Like

Share your thoughts with our community

