Lent- Day 16

“To dash at once against Christ the evil thoughts which rise in one’s heart” (RB 4.50) – I hear, just as soon as they arise within me – to curb my tongue, to stop them before they escape even once out of my mouth. What a challenge! The Lenten Action asks: “Are there certain types of thoughts that seem to dominate your thinking?” – As I prayed about this I realize that a category for me, especially when I am under stress is: expectations not being met according to my timeline. I think perhaps this goes back to the sense of original sin – wanting to be God rather than accepting my role as part of his creation. I pray for the discernment and attentiveness within myself to dash these thoughts more readily against Christ each day of Lent.

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Lent, Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lent- Day 16

  1. R. Ann says:

    In the Lenten Action we are advised to be mindful of all our private actions and thoughts. Are there certain thoughts that seem to dominate my thinking? And as it states in the Rule, we are to “dash at once against Christ the evil thoughts which rise in one’s heart.”
    What a challenge this one is! I believe it all has to do with living in the present moment. How often do I find myself with the video tapes going on inside my head – with thoughts of past conversations that didn’t go well, or worse yet, with thoughts of possible conversations that could occur in the future, a total fabrication of my over active imagination. They are not always nice conversations either!
    This drives me crazy because I do become mindful of my thoughts and the not-so-nice repetitive nature of them and I do attempt to “dash them at once against Christ” which does on occation help. But I realize that the amount of time I spend thinking good and righteous thoughts are not nearly as significant as ones that are less than holy. It’s frustrating – but honest. Thankfully, I know that I am at least aware of this and it is God that gives me the grace to be aware. Slowly but surely there will be a transformation – I may be 100 by the time this happens – but it will happen!

    Like

    • B Luis says:

      How true! Awareness is a constant struggle, since we are all so ‘busy’. I find when my thoughts get fixated on a conversation or issue, I try to wipe them away by saying the Jesus Prayer. I need to replace what I am stuck on inside my head with a mantra to My Lord. Centering Prayer has showed me the concept of a Sacred Pause; so that I take time to really contemplate what I want to say instead of impuslively going off at the mouth, which I am inclined to do. However, I am not always successful in ‘curbing my tongue”. It is a slow process.

      Like

      • R. Ann says:

        Excellent suggestion! I will try to remember to go back to my mantra. It’s always there in the back of my mind but your reminder helped me to remember to put it back up in the front where it belongs.

        Like

  2. Gail Murphy says:

    Amen!

    Like

  3. Leonore Misner says:

    I noticed that Day 16 and Day 17 are very similar. Knowing that God is always with me would certainly curb my thoughts AND my words. Yesterday (Thursday) I thought about someone’s house that is a squalor, . . .I thought it and then I spoke it to another. Spreading feathers is never good – they are so hard to collect up afterward. The thought did, however, lead me to look in my own corner of the house and to begin cleaning it up, you know – the board in my face. Thank you, God, for turning the dirty thought in my mind’s eye into a clean action. So today, Silence is Golden. How can I lead others to YOU, Lord, to bring them joy and peace, when I speak badly of those persons. Silence IS golden, for we don’t give ourselves time to be silent. It is a choice. My Lord and My God, I CHOOSE YOU TODAY.
    Leonore

    Like

  4. I dugg some of you post as I cogitated they were extremely helpful very useful

    Like

  5. G. Murphy says:

    Leonore,
    Liked your emphasis on silence – for me, wisdom and God’s grace are found more readily these days in silence rather than in lots of words… we live in a world that seems to value words over silence and both are needed.

    Like

Share your thoughts with our community

