Lent – Day 18- Templates

For nearly two weeks now we’ve been in the 4th Chapter of the Rule,”Tools for Good Works”. Today’s material revolves around prayer. Jesus prayed honestly and “offered up prayers and supplications, with loud cries and tears to the one who was able to save him from death..” The passage from Hebrews is a template – a pattern for offering all of who I am to God. As I think about templates I use in my wordprocessing program I realize I have two reactions to them. If I’m writing a letter, they make the process easier and quicker as they format the information automatically. I don’t have to think about font size, word placement or margin size. Sometimes my prayer is like this – automatic and routine, without much thought being needed – it’s easy and quick and I can fit it in to my schedule and am grateful for this comfortable prayer template. Reading scripture daily is like this for me. Sometimes however, a template can feel restricting and I find myself resisting it’s pattern. Something about it is uncomfortable or familiar and I find myself spending more time and energy with it than I wanted to, to see the process through to the end. My prayer is sometimes like this – I find myself is unfamiliar territory – outside my comfort zone, invited there by a God who wants all of me – all the pieces of my day – bright blinding lights and dark silence.

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Lent, Scripture, The Rule of Saint Benedict and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lent – Day 18- Templates

  1. Peggy M says:

    I always find that my Lent redefines itself into unexpected places– “This is what I ask of you.”

    Like

Share your thoughts with our community

