Lent – Day 22 – Loving the Younger ones in our Lives

(As some have asked, beginning today I will give the scripture and rule verses at the beginning of my daily posts.)
(Matt 19:13-15/RB 4:70-71)

Sorry not to post yesterday – the day simply took on it’s own shape around work meetings and the needs of my children which yesterday included: carpools, illness,homework tantrums, math tutoring, karate lessons and nightmares mixed together with warm weather that led to trampolines, tossing bean bags and ice cream sandwiches after school. Anyway, back to the topic at hand which today Sutera calls “Crossing the Generation Gap” – Matthew’s scripture passage has Jesus welcoming the little children and laying hands on them (in blessing?) while the disciples disapprove and reprimand. Benedict’s Rule calls us “to honor the aged and to love the younger.” Perhaps I was a day ahead yesterday as my activities focused mainly on the “loving” of my children as best I could with my time and energy. I have to disagree with Sutera when she writes “This may seem a bit anticlimatic” when we look at the previous days challenges. This area, love, respect and nurturing of people of all ages, especially those vulnerable groups at either end of the age continuum can be very difficult. For me, it’s a daily challenge to simply be “with” my children, accompanying them on their journeys, knowing that I can model myself after our God who dwells with us in all the moments of our days: good and bad, big and small.

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Lent, The Rule of Saint Benedict and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts with our community

