Lent – Day 30 – Losing Control

(Scripture – Matt5:38-45/ Rule of Benedict 7:35-36A,42-43)

In Sutera’s Lenten Action we hear that on the path to humility, life is not always fair or even pleasant. Bad things happen.  The scripture passage says; “love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,” and “bless those who curse you”.  I hear in her reflection  that authentic humility puts aside pride and our personal will at these times,  in favor of relationship and reconciliation. The reality is that to presume life is fair has never been something that God promised. When I can release this expectation, I am freer to look at situations as they arise, and then decide if there’s anything I have control over  besides my own attitude and behavoir.  Usually not.  This is where trust in God, in the midst of difficult situations – which for me I call times of darkness – is vital.  After all,  God is God, and I am not (humility).  I have very little control over the things that happen in this world.  I can however, choose a stance of hope and an offer of reconciliation, regardless of what others might choose.

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Scripture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts with our community

