Tuesday of Holy Week: God of Mercy

(Scripture Luke 22:49-51)

Today’s scripture passage takes place within the context of Jesus’ arrest.  One of his disciples, angry that Jesus has been betrayed, cut’s off the ear of the high priest. Jesus meets this act of violence with an act of healing mercy and unconditional forgiveness.  Sutera challenges us with  questions:  “For whom have you not felt sorry for? I can think of several people and agencies that I have a difficult time feeling compassion or empathy for, at least consistently.  We have 4 adopted children who experienced damaging events in their early years.  Each time my child and I confront issues stemming from those years I feel anger at the injustice of innocent children being treated unlovingly. Jesus’ behavoir toward the high priest sets a guideline for me.  I find I am pretty successful at being merciful and forgiving when the violence is turned only toward me – but not tolerant at all when it is toward my children.  This call is a challenge for me.  I pray as I walk through Holy Week, to grow in my capacity to extend mercy.

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Scripture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts with our community

