Thresholds Moments

We all have threshold moments – those times when we are invited to move from one way of being to another, called by God’s spirit into deeper relationship and a new understanding of ourselves and the world.  These moments are challenging, so we often pause on the threshold itself – that space where we are no longer who we were, nor who we will become.  Crossing over the threshold and accepting God’s invitation is scary and we may have mixed feeling.  We may have been comfortable where we were. We may be angry at the call to change.  We may have doubts about what the future holds.  All week the disciples of Jesus have faced this call.  They’ve been on a threshold – being called to a new understanding of Jesus, His Spirit and their lives.  The invitation stands and unfortunately there’s no going back.  Their post-resurrection experiences have begun to move them toward a new way of being, toward a fuller understanding of their mission.  We are disciples as well on this journey. What new things did we experience this Lent and Easter Season that call us to a new understanding of God’s call in our lives?  What threshold are we pausing on or have we crossed?

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Easter Season, Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thresholds Moments

  1. Beverly Martin says:

    For me, being more faithful to the Exam has kept me more on track. I can see where I am being faithful as a Christian disciple or where I need to improve each day. I am also being called to serve those in need more and finding ways around me to assist, like take food to the sick or contribute to an agency for those in financial need, or buy a can or two of food each time I go to the store to add to our parish’s food collections. Just taking time to acknowledge a friend’s birthday or stop for a brief conversation or a cup of coffee – there are so many small things that I can do each day that I am becoming more aware of.

    Like

    • Your response reminds me of Saint Benedict’s 4th chapter on Tools for Good Works…which is based on the commandment: “Love the Lord your God with your whole heart, the whole soul, the whole strength, and then one’s neighbor as one’s self.” It seems to me your daily actions echo God’s love for you.

      Like

  2. R. Ann says:

    I have found this Lent and Easter season to be one of an intense and deep inward journey and transformation. It has been one threshold moment after another, God inviting me to a deeper awareness of myself and my relationship with Him. Yes, it truly has been scary at times, with mixed feelings, anger and doubt all thrown into the mix. Wondering so often as to why God was having me go through this. But I found that the more I surrendered to the process and crossed over the thresholds that God was asking me to, the more he allowed me to be aware of the resurrection moments that were to come. God’s call for my life is not yet as clear as I would like, but he lights my path, points me in the right direction, and says, “Come.” And so I go…

    Like

    • What’s remarkable is your fortitude to continue the journey! We don’t often get the end of the road view while we’re in the process but it sounds like your faithfulness has led to fruitfulness along the way.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Pause. Breathe. Be. « elizabeth goes to church

Share your thoughts with our community

