Windsocks and Kites: The Feast of the Visitation

I selected this post to be featured on Catholic Blogs. Please visit the site and vote for my blog!

Tomorrow, Thursday, May 31, marks the Feast of the Visitation.   In the gospel we hear: “Mary set out and traveled to the hill country in haste to a town of Judah, where she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth.” (LK 1:39-40)Mary, pregnant with Jesus, journeys to visit her cousin Elizabeth, who carries John the Baptist within her.  The women embrace and recognize the gift of God’s Spirit in their midst. We can hear it in the dialogue they exchange.  Elizabeth exclaims: “Most blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb.” Mary prays: “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord; my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.” (Lk 1:46-47) The powerful winds of Pentecost resonate throughout the passage.  This is a moment of transformation. What does this mean for us?  We are like Mary, God dwells within each of us as well and we too are commissioned to carry God’s Spirit to one another with joyous hospitality!  Summer vacations are beginning  and they are often a  time to welcome visitors or to travel, like Mary, to visit loved ones. During this season, can we carry the missionary spirit of the visitation with us by embracing each person as a gift of God’s presence in our lives? As you look at the image above, notice the windsock behind the women – a symbol of the winds of Pentecost.  I invite you to hang a windsock, fly a kite or hang a windchime tomorrow as a visual and audible reminder of the Holy Spirit’s presence in our lives.  Create a sacramental sign – make visible the often invisible!I plan to go kite flying with my children as an opportunity to break open the meaning of the Feast of the Visitation with them tomorrow.  I would love to hear your “visitation” experiences, in words or pictures in the coming days here on this blog.

For more from the artist of this amazing image of Visitation go to: http://blueeyedennis-siempre.blogspot.com/2011/01/michael-oneill-mcgrath-great-artist.html

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Feasts, Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Windsocks and Kites: The Feast of the Visitation

  1. Pat says:

    Good Morning,
    My first reaction to the concept of visitation is ‘wow, this is so soon after the celebration of Easter and Pentecost.’ The cycle of life continues but it leaves me feeling as though I want to cry out “Wait, let me catch my breath!”
    Life moves so fast with family and work, I suppose I want to move a little more slowly on the spiritual side of life. Anybody else get caught by surprise?

    Like

  2. GB says:

    Very beautiful image you choose-
    I instantly thought of the soft breeze and the gentle sounds a wind chime makes- it reminds us of the movement with our hearing-
    The word that comes to me is “embrace”- my visitation or embrace-holy spirit will be a small wind chime

    Like

    • I lke your word “embrace” – I remember a friend I had years ago who with their embrace made me feel safe and as if I could rest there all day – it matches my image of God’s respite and his offer of unconditional love. What a gift that person had to offer the spirit of the “visitation” to those he encountered!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Share your thoughts with our community

