A Universal Call

This morning, I heard the sprinkler system flip on and saw the water began to spray out over the already browning grass, victim of the winter’s drought and late spring heat. My youngest son, Brandon, was already at the kitchen table, munching on cereal and reading a book we’d picked up from the library on building with legos. I had been sitting with this passage from scripture, “He saved us and called us to a holy life, not according to our works but according to his own design” (from today’s readings: 2 Tim 1) I poured my first cup of coffee and opened a small red book as I’d done most mornings since I began working at the monastery. It had become a part of my morning routine as working at the monastery was a little like being unexpectedly immersed in a wonderful new culture complete with it’s own language and guidebook: The Rule of Benedict. The spirit of benedictine living permeated the monastery and clues to what this meant were contained in this guidebook. Saint Benedict called it a “little rule for beginners.” I read: “Do not aspire to be holy before you really are, but first be holy that you may more truly be called so,” from Chapter 4. Scripture and the Rule both referenced a call to holiness. Hmmmm…… This phrase is sadly in danger of being relegated to the lives of Saints. Of course, this is also the easiest definition since it doesn’t require anything in particular from me. Unfortunately, I am a proponent of the universal call to holiness. So today, this will include my interaction with my children at the kitchen table, while eating or playing with clay, at the dentist office, at the food store or the swimming pool. Will my children and the others we meet along the day notice a difference in me as a result of this call? Was I less busy and therefore more present, more patient, more forgiving or compassionate than other days? Saint Benedict says that our way of being in the world should be different than the world’s. I will have to wait and see. Hopefully this reflection assists me – just being reminded of this call today.

Reflection Questions for days end:

When I look back over my day, what holy moment can I name?

Where did I miss an opportunity to live my call to holiness?

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Scripture, The Rule of Saint Benedict. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts with our community

