Doors of Faith Gallery

When I was growing up, we spent summer vacation in a one-room cottage (two if you count the screened porch) on a small lake in Indiana. I would wake early most mornings and quietly slip out of the cottage and across the wet grass to the pier. Grabbing the oars, I’d paddle our boat out just past the lilypads, drop the anchor and sit in quiet.  There, as the sun rose, I found a doorway to God before the busy family day began.  Without realizing it, I had found a place of prayer – a place to listen, as St Benedict’s says, “with the ear of the heart.”  A place to experience divine hospitality. It was my lived experience of: “When you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father..” (Matt 6:6a)

In this Year of Faith, do you have a picture of a sacred Door of Faith that you would like to share with our community? Is there an image that for you represents a sacred threshold where you came face to face with the God who loves you? Is it the door to your home or your faith community? Is it within yourself or out in the world? Is it something others might consider a secular doorway that for you is sacred? Is it made of wood or stone or human flesh? I invite you to share your image on our “Doors of Faith” Tab above…. please attach a few words about its location… I have set up a gallery where we can share the images across the world. It is my hope to build this gallery into a holy mosaic… join us! Pass this site on and invite others to become part of this sacred project! To add your doorway of faith to our photo gallery, email your photo as an attachment to gmurphy@benethillmonastery.org .

About WalkingwithBenedict

I love how scripture comes alive with messages for our lives today. In praying with scripture, we are called into deeper relationship with God and others. We are called to the growth in love, hospitality, peace, humility, stewardship and hope. St Benedict's Rule provides a lens for how scripture can be lived in our lives today whether we live inside or outside a monastery.
This entry was posted in Faith, Scripture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doors of Faith Gallery

  1. Pat says:

    Aha – That opens a door for me, being a literal person I was only considering physical doors.
    My Catholic faith door was in fact a person. Often times as a book person, my faith doorway is something inspirational written in a book or article, and once in a while a homily. I have noticed that the Mass doorway is something I do not look forward to every Sunday, there is always something that needs to get done and the weekend is so short. Without fail the Sundays I am most reluctant to go are in fact the Sundays that result in the most profound ‘aha’ moments.

    Like

  2. Barbara says:

    I, too, considered literal doors at first, and submitted three of them. They were all three doors to other doors, probably less literal. The first was the door to my grade school in Fort Worth. Ironically today it is the door to the Religious Formation Center for the diocese! Through that door I found teachers and lessons and experiences that led me to faith for 8 years. Next door to that school building were the doors to St. Patrick’s church where my classmates and family attended for many years. Daily Mass there was part of my school day as well as First Communion, Confirmation, Penance, and parish missions, processions, Holy Week services. It was there that I saw faith modeled for me by other students, teachers, parishioners, etc. There I learned to treasure quiet moments of reflection, glorious celebrations, and the faithfulness of daily presence.

    The third door was the one to my Catholic high school. There I learned by instruction and example how to live my faith. There we wrestled with moral issues of the day, learned more about how to think about faith beyond rote memory of the catechism. That was also the door to the mother house of the Sisters of St. Mary, where I called home for 13 years. Beyond those doors I learned more about meditation, prayer, the Church (during Vatican 2), of living in community with others, about Scripture and liturgy . I was mentored by women of faith, who helped me reflect on my own spiritual journey.

    There are many doors beyond these three, doors which I may never have discovered had I not walked through these three.

    Like

    • Walkingwithbenedict says:

      Barb, thanks for sharing your story! I have memories of daily Mass as well. I enjoyed their simplicity and how much quieter the church was. Thank you for being a part of this mosaic of stories and images.

      Like

Share your thoughts with our community

